No Sudden Move Release date, Cast, Storyline and Trailer

No Sudden Move

No Sudden Move

No Sudden Move is a 2021 American crime thriller film produced by  Bron Studios, Participant Media, and  Bron Studios. edited, directed, and photographed by Steven Soderbergh, and written by Ed Solomon. The film features an ensemble cast of Benicio del Toro, David Harbour, Don Cheadle, Jon Hamm, Brendan Fraser, Kieran Culkin, Noah Jupe, Julia Fox, Frankie Shaw,  Amy Seimetz, Ray Liotta, Bill Duke, and Craig Grant.

ALSO CHECK: Zone 414 Movie Release Date, Cast Storyline and Trailer

No  Sudden Move had its world premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival on 18th June 2021, and it was released by HBO Max in the United States on July 1, 2021. The film received positive critiques from authorities with praise for Soderbergh’s direction and the performances of the cast.

Release date

On June 18, 2021, No Sudden Move had its global premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival. On July 1, 2021, it premiered on HBO Max. The video was watched by 567,000 homes in its first four days, according to Samba TV.


Curt Goynes, along with gangsters Ronald Russo and Charley, is recruited to threaten a family as part of a blackmail operation in 1954 Detroit, Michigan, because he needs money to get out of town. Doug Jones, the recruiter, leads them to the home of GM accountant Matt Wertz, where they are to kidnap the family while Wertz goes to his office to get a document from his boss’ safe, which is empty.

To the amazement of Goynes and Russo, a frantic Wertz takes bogus paperwork to Jones and then returns home, where Charley prepares to execute the entire family. Goynes shoots and kills Charley because he doesn’t want to be a part of the massacre.

Jones calls the house once he discovers the documents are forged. He commands Goynes to assassinate Russo and his family, and Goynes understands he and Russo have been duped. Goynes tells the family that Charley broke into their home and that Wertz killed Charley in self-defense before they leave.

Following Mr. Big’s departure, Goynes and Russo attempt to split the money, but are intercepted by Watkins and his men, who have already taken $125,000 from Naismith. Initially, it appears that Goynes and Watkins have teamed up to betray Russo, but Goynes is led away by Watkins’ men under duress. Ronald is given permission to take the $375,000. Detective Finney and his men halt Watkins and his men outside the hotel, but Watkins bribes the detective with $50,000 of the Naismith money to allow them to go with Goynes, promising Finney that Goynes will be “taken care of.”

Russo and Vanessa flee the city, but as they deviate from the main road to avoid a possible pursuer, Vanessa murders him and takes the money for herself. Vanessa is stopped by a police officer as she drives away, who collects the money and then lets her go. Detective Finney gives Mr. Big the money, including the $50,000 bribe from Watkins, in private. Curt is taken to a pier by Watkins, where they make amends. Curt is given $5,000 by Watkins, and he is allowed to leave for Kansas City.


  • Don Cheadle as Curt Goynes
  • Benicio del Toro as Ronald Russo
  • David Harbour as Matt Wertz
  • Jon Hamm as Detective Joe Finney
  • Amy Seimetz as Mary Wertz
  • Brendan Fraser as Doug Jones
  • Kieran Culkin as Charley
  • Noah Jupe as Matthew Wertz Jr.
  • Craig Grant as Jimmy
  • Julia Fox as Vanessa Capelli
  • Frankie Shaw as Paula Cole
  • Ray Liotta as Frank Capelli
  • Bill Duke as Aldrick Watkins
  • Matt Damon as Mike Lowen/Mr. Big (Uncredited)
  • Byron Bowers as Maurice
  • Hugh Maguire as Mel Forbert
  • Bryan Sawyer as Detective
  • Javon Anderson as Lonnie
  • Kevin Scollin as Hugh Naismith

ALSO CHECK: Blood Red Sky wiki, Released Date, Storyline, and Trailer


In November 2019, it was announced that Steven Soderbergh would direct the film, which was then titled Kill Switch, and that Josh Brolin, Don Cheadle, Sebastian Stan, and John Cena were all in the running to star. Jon Hamm and Cedric the Entertainer began negotiations in March 2020, with Brolin opting out. Cheadle, Stan, and Hamm were confirmed in May 2020, with Benicio del Toro, Ray Liotta, Amy Seimetz, Frankie Shaw, and George Clooney also joining the cast.

Filming was supposed to start on April 1, 2020, but was postponed owing to the COVID-19 epidemic. Soderbergh claimed that he hoped to resume filming in September. No Sudden Move was renamed and began filming on September 28 in Detroit, with David Harbour, Brendan Fraser, Kieran Culkin, Noah Jupe, Bill Duke, and Julia Fox joining the cast, while actors Stan, Cena, and Clooney left owing to production delays. Matt Damon was cast in a cameo role in the film in October. On November 12th, the production was completed.

No Sudden Move official trailer


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *